Tuesday, July 14, 2015

The Wonder of You (By: Susan May Warren)

The Wonder of You
By: Susan May Warren

The fifth book in this outstanding series is finally here - and oh boy, is it a good one! Not only did we fall deeper in love with the Christiansen family, this read made our Golden List as well. Only one book left to go and it's expected next Spring.

Amelia, the youngest of the Christiansen siblings, has always been protected by her well-meaning sisters and brothers. But what she really longs to do is leave Deep Haven, follow her adventurous spirit all over the world, and prove to her family that she is brave and strong. But when her life in Prague goes sour, she scurries home with her tail between her legs, thinking that maybe she isn't as cut out for an adventurous, exciting life as she thought. Should she ignore her instincts and just settle down in Deep Haven for good? 

Roark St. John, European heir and playboy, has a much deeper past and spirit than anyone realizes - and when he follows Amelia to Deep Haven, he discovers the family and community he has always yearned for. Problem is, Amelia can't seem to decide what she wants - and if she doesn't choose him, he won't be able to stay in Deep Haven to watch her build her life with another man.

Author Susan is a master at giving just the right amount of plot line to keep us hooked all the way through! While this storyline may seem predictable, she gives the journey many twists, turns and personal touches to immerse the reader completely in the book.
Also worth noting that sister Grace (from book three) and her husband Max have an incredible storyline here too!

Roark has suffered great personal tragedy and has been running ever since. Amelia, too, is much deeper than any of her siblings realize. Both wrestle with whether to stay and settle down, or pursue adventure all over the world - but what if the answer can be both?

But the real depth in this story comes from Max and Grace's issues. In book three, we discovered Max had a serious health problem to reconcile before tying the knot. But now married, and facing the deep yearning for a family, Max and Grace must reconcile their reality with their dreams once again.

Just as in the rest of this series, God's plan for everyone's lives plays a central role here. All the main characters must wrestle to discover how to follow the Lord, and they must rely on His wisdom to guide them each day. A central theme is obedience to the Lord's call on your life - in this case, giving up wealth and family in exchange for the wonder of knowing Christ and all of His riches. One additional thing we love about this series is the patriarch and matriarch, John and Ingrid Christiansen, and their perspective and wisdom they offer to their children. They aren't perfect, but they are excellent examples of Godly parents leading their family.

Squeal Factor
Between Max and Grace, and Roark and Amelia, the reader is treated to many tender moments and sweet whisperings between the lovebirds! The love written about in this book is heartfelt, deep and sincere. We love swoon worthy scenes!

What a tremendous book! An intriguing storyline, layers to uncover, sweet romance, and a God who guides, helps and loves His people all make for a very real, honest and engaging read. Don't miss this gem!! We now wait with eager anticipation for book six, due next Spring, where we can finally have a conclusion to Owen's story (that's going to be a whopper, isn't it?).

Find it on Amazon: The Wonder of You

Note: We were given this book in exchange for our honest review 

No comments:

Post a Comment